back to black

10 Sep

hello lovelies!

with the colder seasons on the horizon, my interest naturally wanders to darker colors. i’m sure yours does too.
let me tell you why i love black. well, it’s actually quite simple: who doesn’t?
not only is black slimming, elegant, timeless and über cool, it is also one of the easiest colors to wear. outfit all in black? why not. don’t know what to wear with this shirt/pants/shoes/bag/jacket? make the missing piece black, and in 99% of the cases you’ll be good to go.
mixing various textures and fabrics in an all-black outfit gives it a stylish edge, and doesn’t give an impression of a boring uniform. plus, any accent of color in the form of jewellery or accessories will pop against the dark “backdrop”.

black beauty- via http://www.fashionising.com

black is (or should be) a staple color in everyone’s wardrobe. you can never have too much black in my opinion. got 8  plain black tees? so what. you’ll wear them.
which brings me to my next point: black shoes. how many pairs of black shoes are enough? two? seven? fifteen? 
trick question!
there is no such thing as enough black shoes. am i right ladies and gents? unless you have the same identical pair three times. otherwise, you cannot seriously tell me that a pair of black smooth leather peeptoes are the same as black suede slingback peeptoes? or that black patent pumps count as much as black textured leather stilettos? or that having three different model black ballerinas are too many?! exactly. you can’t.

you might wonder what this post is about (besides my love for black and shoes)… well, it’s about my newest purchase!three pairs of black steve madden shoes.

1. wedge sneakers- yes, i know i just got some, but these are black. and have studs. awesome by default.

model: hamlit

2. boots with a block heel. don’t have one of those, the boots i have are either flat, or with a stiletto type heel. ergo, i needed these.

model: estellle

3. classic elegant pumps. i recently discovered that i mostly have peeptoes in my closet, and that just won’t do. every girl needs a similar pair of pumps, because they go with everything- will dress up jeans and a top, and will work with more elegant or work-related clothes. essential.

model: aspire

which shoes have you bought recently? what is your favorite pair of black footwear?

ciao!

4 Responses to “back to black”

  1. shoppingwithautumn 13/09/2012 at 18:08 #

    I have bought a couple pairs of booties :) I love them! It is too warm here in FL for full on boots so they are perfect!

  2. Katie 19/09/2012 at 01:40 #

    My thoughts exactly. My wardrobe consists of about 50% black items, and the colors I have splurged on go largely untouched- but I’m working on it! Great post

    • brownponytail 20/09/2012 at 07:32 #

      aw thanks!
      black is so versatile, cool and timeless!
      dare to wear colours though, they make you feel good :)
      x

      • Katie 20/09/2012 at 19:31 #

        I think I might just need to post about that soon :) I wore this gorgeous sea foam green BCBG Max Azria sheath to a wedding recently and everyone loved it- I guess color can agree with me

Leave a Reply

