vacation report I – ticino

16 Jul

hello lovelies!

sorry for my absence, it’s been a somewhat stressy couple of days, but now i can finally unwind- i’m on vacation in switzerland in ticino, where i grew up. so many memories! this place is beautiful, every time i come back i’m reminded of how blessed i was growing up in this little patch of heaven.

look, this is the view from my bedroom window- i want to add that the window takes up 3/4 of the wall, top to bottom, so it’s quite an impressive sight at any time of day:

i arrived saturday around noon, flew from vienna to zürich and then took the train to bellinzona. bellinzona is one of the bigger towns in the canton ticino- the italian side of switzerland (most southern part, bordering with italy), and it is known for its three majestic castles. the flight was so early, i had to get up at 4.15 am- pure torture! yuki wasn’t happy about having his night interrupted either, he just kept observing me from my pillow while i was getting ready- it took a lot of willpower not to get back to bed:

yesterday we went to have lunch at an amazing grotto (not what hugh hefner has- a grotto in italian is a small rustic restaurant) in montagnola, a suburb of lugano situated on a hill over the lake- beautiful area! pictures and a report to follow. fun facts about montagnola: the writer hermann hesse used to live here, and george harrison (the beatles) used to spend his summers there in his mansion.
we also passed by tasis, my high school, and needless to say the memories almost got me choked up! the campus became so much bigger and impressive! i can’t wait to meet some of my friends that now work there as summer camp tutors!

hope everyone is having a great weekend!

2 Responses to “vacation report I – ticino”

  1. Carine 18/07/2012 at 03:15 #

    Hello,
    I am the human of Texas the cat in NY ;-)
    I love love love Ticino. My husband and I only visited once 2 years ago and we completely fell in love with this little paradise on earth. We were staying very close to Lugano.
    I sure hope we can visit again one day!
    Thanks for visiting Texas’ blog :-)

  2. Jennifer K. 03/08/2012 at 02:53 #

    Awww…kitty! Looks like he dipped his mouth into chocolate milk.

Leave a Reply

