the next step

14 Dec

lovelies, as you know, i am not particularly fond of my job.

it’s not fulfilling nor challenging me, and it sure as hell isn’t interesting.
usually, at least the co-workers are a highlight… well, mine aren’t. save for maybe two people, i really don’t care much about any of them. doesn’t sound like much fun, right?

3rndhx

i am very happy to tell you, that today is my last day at work.

i handed in my resignation three weeks ago. the feeling i got when i walked out of my boss’ office was of sheer joy and relief. i took that as a good sign.

suddenly my work ethic and outlook changed- i became more relaxed and focused, fending off the negative feelings, because i knew that there was a time limit. every day i chanted a little mantra of “only x more days to go”- believe me, it worked like magic! i was no longer bothered by my colleagues, or the petty things happening at the office. a calmness enveloped me, ever since i made my decision, and it’s a wonderful feeling.
i might walk out the building dancing the macarena, who knows. maybe i’ll hop out gangnam style.

it’s really not worth it, doing a job you despise. of course everyone needs the money. but there has to be some quality of life left. one shouldn’t have to dread going to work every morning of every day, it’s just such a heavy chunk of negativity to carry- it will eventually bring you down. and i don’t want that for myself. i could almost see my joie de vivre dissipate, month after month, and decided it can’t go on like that- i refuse to lose my energy and positivity because of a job. just no.

so now the job search begins again. i’m not picky, i have a wide range of interests and capabilities and i’m a quick learner- i like to think of myself as quite versatile. i don’t expect to find my absolute dream job, where i will be so happy i don’t want to go home, but i’ve learned my lesson: i need a job where i have at least the slightest interest in the subject, or where i can honestly say “i’m ok with doing this for the next x years”.
it’s not going to be easy, but i’m looking forward to the challenge.

has anyone of you been in a similar situation?
have you quit your job before, because you were unhappy with it?
i would love to hear your stories!

4 Responses to “the next step”

  1. caro is spicy 14/12/2012 at 12:44 #

    Congratulations on making the decision to leave, it’s difficult to do sometimes but you have the right attitude to find something else.

    I hope you find a job that you will enjoy and feel much happier doing (even if it’s not dream job right away). Good luck!

  2. Beautiful Kayekie 14/12/2012 at 14:27 #

    I’ve had the same thought for years, not hating work but how important it is to do something you like or love. We all have to work, so why not make the most of it? :)

    Good for you, and good luck with the next exciting chapter. I hope you find the perfect fit and you skip to work every day. Hehe.

    I love those cat photos by the way. They crack me up.

  3. Carine 14/12/2012 at 15:25 #

    Congratulations and I wish you the best for your job search! I completely understand by the way :-)
    Recently I came across this video that you might appreciate: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2L_cGjQSR80

  4. Snow 03/01/2013 at 06:27 #

    nominated you for the versatile blogger award http://mademoisellesnow.wordpress.com/2013/01/03/versatile-blogger-award/
    xoxo
    Lisa

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 197 other followers

